Decisions Decisions

So I was running two machines at work since the end of the summer last year. Loved every minute of it! That is, until recently!

Things have slowed down at work quite a bit. Which means that some people have had to move around and work on other machines while they have nothing else to do. And with me running two machines, one of mine is the chosen destination of one “worker” (I use that term loosely) in particular.

Ok, a little background to better understand why this frustrates me. I have worked here for a little over 8 years. In that time, I would say that majority of seven of those years I have worked in an area of the shop that I was by myself. I prefer it that way! Small talk just annoys me. It even comes across as me being an asshole at times but…oh well! I’m a self proclaimed loner! I prefer to be alone or with the people I love. Not with people that I have absolutely nothing in common with other than place of employment.

Also in that time, when I started running two machines, I was told to write down every bit of production that I did! As well a having to clock in and out the work orders on the computer. This is to help keep track of my productivity and to make better decisions on raises or things like that.

Now here’s the problem, when he is here I’m reduced to just one machine. Which is easier to keep track of all my numbers. Haha And when he is working somewhere else, I take over and run both machines again. Now there are times that this guy likes to talk…..a lot!!! Perfect example of this was this morning. For over an hour he was away from the machine, talking. That’s it! Just talking! So what do I do? Do I clock in on the work order that he was supposed to be working on, knowing that at any second he will be back over here talking my ear off. Or do it with out recording it, which also means no record of the work that I completed. Or just leave it alone and let him complete whatever work is done on that machine.

I’m torn in this decision due to the fact that, if I do nothing it reflects bad on me! But on that same token, if he does nothing, it reflects bad on him which is not my problem. And then punching in and out of a work order is a big deal. I need to make sure I’m going to be able to complete at least one part or it messes up the computers since it asks for your production quantity and it won’t take zero as an answer.

I just don’t know what to do here. What’s the best way to handle this? I should probably ask the big guys here but I also don’t want to seem petty. I just want to do the right thing. But what is that?

One thought on “Decisions Decisions

  1. I say first of all you pray about it. Then I would speak to your supervisor and just ask what he wants you to do. That way he will know the situation and know you are willing to do whatever it takes.

Leave a Reply

