Music is my drug

I love music!! Almost any form of it. I love how it can transport you to another time in the span of just a few notes. It can even just take you out of yourself for even the length of the song if you let it.

I can listen to almost anything from the ’90s and there I am. Back in high school without a care in the world. Back when MS was only something I heard about when it came time for the walk in spring and was not affected by it and had it change my life so drastically!

A little, or a lot, about me. (Depends on how much I ramble! Ha) I was in the orchestra from jr. high until graduation. That explains my love of classical music. The classical composers can just move you from peaceful to energized and ready for war, so to speak, with just a few movements of the bow across the strings!

As I said before, I love almost all types of music. I even like the show tunes! That is due in part to my time in community theatre and the number of musical shows that I was part of! Being in musical theatre also showed me that I wasn’t half bad at it and so I did it just for the adrenaline rush that it brought on!! It was at this time that I opened my mind to actually listen to the talent involved in telling a story with just your voice! Not saying that I have that talent! Lol But pretty much, any artist or musician that can do this, has my vote!

Going to tell you about a few of my favorites!!

(Confession time) “Hi! My name is Scott and I watch Glee.” Ok! I said it! For me, it’s not so much the story on the show, although its not horrible, as much as it is the talent on the show! Lea Michelle has a voice that just blows me away every time! I look forward to see what songs they will sing this week! The harmonies are superb!

Speaking of harmonies, Celtic Thunder is a group from Ireland that is awesome!! The voices in that group, and the harmonies they produce are so moving! I get chills! One of my favorites by them is “Steal Away”! An A Cappella song that gives me chills every time I hear it!!

And speaking of A Cappella, Peter Hollens. He was part of a group named On The Rocks from University of Oregon that was a contestant on season two of the Sing Off on NBC. He has been doing songs on his own that are mostly covers of popular songs but has a cd out of his own, original music. Talk about talent!!! His voice is the only instrument used on these songs!! It amazes me at the amount of talent that is held in one person!! Listening to his songs also gives me chills due to the pure sound of his voice! Amazing!! Don’t come around that talent often! One of my favorite songs he has done is a cover of the Jason Mraz song “I Won’t Give Up”. Another favorite is one that he did with another A Cappella group called “Poor Wayfaring Stranger” with The Swingle Singers. Check him out on YouTube!

That is a list of artist that are like my go-to people for good music that relaxes and I find thoroughly enjoyable. Now for a list of singles by various artist that I find fun, or rhythmic, or just plain good!

Kryptonite by 3 Doors Down
Her Name is Alice by Shinedown
Home by Marc Broussard
Under the Bridge by RHCP
Snow (Hey-O) by RHCP
Under the Boardwalk by The Drifters
45 by Shinedown
Silent Lucidity by Queensryche
I Won’t Let Go by Rascal Flatts
Devil Went Down To Georgia by CDB
Russian Sailors Dance by Glier (sp?)
Canon in D by Pachalbel (sp?)
I’m yours by Jason Mraz
F**k You by CeeLo Green
Losing My Religion by R.E.M.
Simple Man by Leonard Skynard and the version by Shinedown
Someone Like You by Adele
Rolling In The Deep by Adele
Boondocks by Little Big Town

That’s just to name a few! I use music as an escape! Not from anything other than myself! I sometimes just sit in my car at lunch and listen to music! Whatever fits the mood at the time!

Hope I didn’t ramble too much! Thanks for reading!

By the way, I will be updating this list as the songs come to me! Lol

Leave a Reply

