Spoons

I have heard a lot of reference to the “Spoon Theory” lately and decided to fulfill my curious nature and look it up! This is what I found: http://mserdee.blogspot.com/2008/05/spoon-theory.html

Now here are my thoughts on it after reading! I can totally understand this theory and where she is coming from. There was a time, not too long ago, that I could completely relate. It was the beginning of this year, to be more precise, up until around August! I was having a major flare that was affecting my ability to drive and energy levels were at an all time low! So I completely understand where she is coming from! Had to make the choices of staying home or go out with friends in the evening after work or whenever and be totally exhausted the next day!

Now, however, it doesn’t seem as relatable! Since starting on Tysabri, my energy has skyrocketed to the point that those types of choices are not as frequent now! Yes, I do still have to make choices due to MS and the Tysabri treatments but in exchange for the way Tysabri has made me feel, having to make those choices is perfectly fine!

For example, there is a concert this month that I really wanted to attend! This band has been one of my favorites since they came out in the late 90’s. But the concert date fell on the same day as my Tysabri infusion, I decided to not even attempt to go since the infusions always leave me completely exhausted and drained for the rest of the day! So, still making choices. Just not ones based on having to cook dinner or not so I will be able to clean up afterwards!

I am very thankful for the way things are going and the way I am feeling! I know that there are a lot of people out in the MS community who do have to make such decisions! I am not saying that the story of the spoons is flawed! I am just saying that I don’t feel that it relates to me at this time. That also doesn’t mean that it won’t at a later time! As most of us know, MS is very unpredictable and doesn’t affect two people the same!

This is just what came to mind when reading about the spoon theory!

Leave a Reply

